Home Page


A warm welcome to our school website from all the governors on our School Board.


The role of the Board of Governors is to provide strategic leadership and accountability and our responsibilities include:

  • developing the strategic plan for the school,
  • determining the vision, aims, policies and priorities,
  • monitoring and evaluating the progress the school is making towards the achievement of its aims and objectives
  • be a source of challenge and support to the principal (a critical friend).                                                                                                     


Our Board of Governors is made up of parents, staff and members of the local community. They bring a wide variety of skills, knowledge and experience to the leadership and management of Carhill IPS, along with a commitment to improving education for all pupils and to the school’s vision and ethos.


The Governors meet at least three times a year and take on key roles in relation to finance, Recruitment, Pastoral Care, Safeguarding and Professional Development Reviews of the Principal.


The role of the parent governor is extremely important as they give parents a 'voice' within the decision making process in the school. If you would like to get in touch with any parent- governor representative, please contact the school office and we will pass on your request for contact.


Parent Governor

Mr John Mc Lenaghan (Chairperson)

Mrs Tracey Nevin

Mrs Jill Proctor








If you are interested in becoming a school Governor please contact the school office who will put you in touch with our Chair of Governors.